Before applying to the Awards, we ask all aspiring applicants to read our terms and conditions to check that you are eligible for the category you wish to apply for. A list of categories can be found here.

Eligible Applicants (The following does not apply to The Lord Mayor's Award category)

  • Any organisation making an application to the Lord Mayor's Dragon Awards must be headquartered in London. This rule does not apply to the Lord Mayor's Award - Business of Trust Champion
  • The Lord Mayor's Award - Business of Trust Champion is open to any UK private sector business
  • With the exception of the Regional Impact Award and the Lord Mayor's Award - Business of Trust Champion, the Lord Mayor’s Dragon Awards focus on work carried out in Greater London. If you are describing a national project with a London element, make sure the London part is clearly identified, quantified and described fully. Only give as much detail about the wider project as is necessary to set the context.
  • Applications from small and medium-sized organisations (SMEs) are encouraged. The judges will assess each application in relation to their size and resources and reserve the right to award an SME winner in each category in addition to a larger business. SME's are defined as having under 250 employees and €50 million turnover (£44 million).
  • The Lord Mayor's Dragon Awards recognise and celebrate organisations going beyond their core business product or service to have a social impact. Applications will be disqualified if the initiative described is judged to form part or an extension of the organisation’s core commercial and/or delivery activities or if activities are part of any legal obligation. For example, businesses required to engage with communities as part of their Section 106 obligations will need to demonstrate how their community contributions significantly exceed their legal requirements in order to be eligible
  • Public bodies must be able to demonstrate that their project is outside of their normal business mandate.
  • Social enterprises are eligible to apply for the Community Partners Award only as, unlike a traditional business, their community engagement work is part of their constitution and therefore counts as day-to-day business.
  • Corporate charitable foundations should contact us to discuss whether or not you are eligible to apply. If eligible you are welcome to apply in the business facing categories only.  
  • The same initiative cannot be submitted in more than one category. All partners involved in the same initiative must decide which category it best fits into and submit one application to that category only. 
  • In order to score highly, you will need to be able to demonstrate the impact of your initiative to your business, your beneficiaries and wider society.
  • Any initiative you apply with must still be running at the time applications open (Monday 5 February 2018). 

 Previous Applicants

  • If your initiative was shortlisted in 2017 you can apply again with the same initiative (or another) in any category, however the judges will be looking for ways in which your initiative has developed over the past year.
  • If your initiative won an award in (2017), it should not be entered in any category for three years following receiving the award. For example, any initiative that won in 2017 should not be entered again until 2021.  When submitting in following years the initiative should have had substantial changes made to it since winning the award. You may apply with a different initiative to this year's Dragon Awards.
  • If your organisation won an Award in any category in 2017 you should not enter in the same category in 2018 even if you are entering with a different initiative. You may apply in any other category with a different initiative.

Community Partners Award

  • Charities, schools, community groups, and social enterprises having an impact in Greater London may apply. Businesses and public bodies may nominate.

Regional Impact Award

  • Businesses and public bodies with a London headquarters having a regional impact may apply. Charities, schools, community groups, social enterprises and other businesses may nominate.

All other Awards (Excluding the Lord Mayor's Award)

  • Businesses and public bodies having an impact in Greater London may apply. Charities, schools, community groups and social enterprises may nominate.

The Lord Mayor's Award - Business of Trust Champion

  • Individuals, public bodies, voluntary sector organisations or social enterprises are not eligible to apply to this Award but may nominate.
  • The organisation must be a private sector, UK based business.